March 16, 2015

Childrens Book Review & Giveaway: The Littest Bunny in Ohio (an Easter adventure) by Lily Jacobs Illustrated by Robert Dunn

Summary-
It's Easter morning, and the littlest bunny has a big secret: he's actually the Easter Bunny! He has a lot of work to do! Join him as he hides eggs high and low, with a final stop at your house!

Review-
This is one of the neatest hardback books for children. You can buy it with your state in the story. Each book in The Littlest Bunny Series features art and text created especially for a specific state or city, including all 50 states as well as cities in Canada.
I really love the story. It is a rhyme story and I love those. The story is perfect for Easter. The storyline is excellent. The illustrations are beautiful. They are some of the cutest I have seen in a children's book in a while. If you are looking for a book for your children for their Easter basket or a birthday gift. I ABSOLUTELY recommend this book. You have to see it. It is gorgeous!

Published by~Sourcebooks
Reviewer Rating: 5 STARS!!!
Reviewed by~Lora

Meet Our Newest Reviewer: Makayla

 
Meet Makayla our Newest reviewer to the site here is a few things that are really Kool about her:
*She is a Christian and a child of God
*She is 10 years old
*She is in the 4th Grade
*She is in Choir and sings a lot
*She is a straight A Student and loves to attend School
*Her favorite color is Teal
*She loves to wear bright colors and Glitter
* She loves to eat Candy and pizza
*She loves to help people that are in need
*She loves spending time with her family and friends
 
She will be reviewing our middle grade books. Please leave a comment below and make her feel welcome to the team!

Spring into Fitness Giveaway Hop (25$ Amazon Gift Card)

It's Monday! What Are YOU Reading?





This is a fun meme that allows bloggers to get an idea of what everyone else is reading and perhaps help to find our next must-read. So check out what WE are reading and tell us what YOU are reading!!




Lora is Reading: 


......

Princess Meredith’s eighteenth birthday is fast approaching, but unlike other girls, she is not looking forward to it. Upon her coming of age, she is to marry the prince of Alder, the most powerful kingdom in the world. Though the idea of marriage to a complete stranger is appalling, she knows she has no choice. Without the marriage contract, Stonefall’s alliance with Alder will be lost, and her people will be safe no longer; Theros, King of Talos, has set his eyes of conquest on Stonefall and he wants Meredith dead.

Connor, an elite soldier entrusted with Meredith’s safety, arrives at the palace just as things begin to take a turn for the worst. Together, they will embark on a journey of survival, in which Meredith will find that the only thing she never prepared for was falling in love.

......

Cindi is Reading: 


by Andrew Post

......







It has been a time for rebuilding in Geyser, but rumors of a coming attack from the Odium band of cutthroat pirates is looming. Clyde, Nevele, Flam, and Rohm must strike out separately to find a way to stop them before it’s too late.

Nevele scours the dark alleys of Adeshka’s neon-lit streets, paying for information from Odium defectors, and what she learns from one is terrifying—the gang has three days before the Odium attack Geyser. Their goal: to get at the deposit of wendal stone under the city and use it to create an army of fabrick weavers, which would make the Odium the biggest threat the planet Gleese has ever seen.

What makes the threat so frightening isn’t just an attack from the Odium—it’s why.  (goodreads summary)




March 12, 2015

Waiting On Wednesday


Sooooo....what books are we waiting on here at RFYF? There are so many good reads coming out right now that it was hard to pick!



everything that makes you
...... 
by Moriah McStay
Release Date: 17 March 2015
Publisher: Katherine Tegen Books

One girl. Two stories. Meet Fiona Doyle. The thick ridges of scar tissue on her face are from an accident twelve years ago. Fiona has notebooks full of songs she’s written about her frustrations, her dreams, and about her massive crush on beautiful uber-jock Trent McKinnon. If she can’t even find the courage to look Trent straight in his beautiful blue eyes, she sure isn’t brave enough to play or sing any of her songs in public. But something’s changing in Fiona. She can’t be defined by her scars anymore.

And what if there hadn’t been an accident? Meet Fi Doyle. Fi is the top-rated female high school lacrosse player in the state, heading straight to Northwestern on a full ride. She’s got more important things to deal with than her best friend Trent McKinnon, who’s been different ever since the kiss. When her luck goes south, even lacrosse can’t define her anymore. When you’ve always been the best at something, one dumb move can screw everything up. Can Fi fight back?

Hasn’t everyone wondered what if? In this daring debut novel, Moriah McStay gives us the rare opportunity to see what might have happened if things were different. Maybe luck determines our paths. But maybe it’s who we are that determines our luck.

(goodreads summary)




the wrong side of right
......
by Jenn Marie Thorne
Publish Date: 17 March 2015
Publisher: Dial

Fans of Sarah Dessen and Huntley Fitzpatrick will enjoy this smart debut young adult novel, equal parts My Life Next Door and The Princess Diaries—plus a dash of Aaron Sorkin. 

Kate Quinn’s mom died last year, leaving Kate parentless and reeling. So when the unexpected shows up in her living room, Kate must confront another reality she never thought possible—or thought of at all. Kate does have a father. He’s a powerful politician. And he’s running for U.S. President. Suddenly, Kate’s moving in with a family she never knew she had, joining a campaign in support of a man she hardly knows, and falling for a rebellious boy who may not have the purest motives. This is Kate’s new life. But who is Kate? When what she truly believes flies in the face of the campaign’s talking points, she must decide. Does she turn to the family she barely knows, the boy she knows but doesn’t necessarily trust, or face a third, even scarier option? 

Set against a backdrop of politics, family, and first love, this is a story of personal responsibility, complicated romance, and trying to discover who you are even as everyone tells you who you should be.

(goodreads summary)





March 10, 2015

Teaser Tuesday



Teaser Tuesdays is a weekly bookish meme, hosted by MizB of Should Be Reading. Anyone can play along! 
Just do the following: 
  • Grab your current read. 
  • Open to a random page. 
  • Share two (2) “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page. 
  • BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS! 
  • Share the title and author so that other TT participants can add the book to their TBR Lists if they like your teasers! 


There's no way we can have the party here. I can't keep tabs on where everyone goes, and the house undoubtedly will do something to them if they snoop.
p. 35






by Cortney Pearson











March 9, 2015

It's Monday! What Are YOU Reading?




This is a fun meme that allows bloggers to get an idea of what everyone else is reading and perhaps help to find our next must-read. So check out what WE are reading and tell us what YOU are reading!!




Lora is Reading: 


by Cassandra Clare 

......

Fans of The Mortal Instruments and The Infernal Devices can get to know warlock Magnus Bane like never before in this collection of New York Times bestselling tales, in print for the first time with an exclusive new story and illustrated material.


......

Cindi is Reading: 


by Cortney Pearson

......



Fifteen-year-old Piper Crenshaw knows her house is strange. It’s never needed repairs since it was built in the 1800s, and the lights flicker in response to things she says. As if those things aren’t creepy enough, it’s also the place where her mother committed murder.

To prove she’s not afraid of where she lives, Piper opens a forbidden door, which hides a staircase that leads to the ceiling. That’s when the flashbacks of the original residents from 1875 start, including a love affair between two young servants. Each vision pulls Piper deeper into not only their story, but also her house. Piper confides in her best friend, Todd, whom she's gradually falling for, but even he doesn't believe her. At least, not until her house gets axed during a prank, and the act injures Piper instead, cutting a gash the size of Texas into her stomach.

Piper realizes her house isn’t haunted—it’s alive. To sever her link to it, she must unravel the clues in the flashbacks and uncover the truth about her mother’s crime, before she becomes part of her house for good.  (goodreads summary)




March 4, 2015

Waiting On Wednesday


Sooooo....what books are we waiting on here at RFYF? Everyone is tired of school by now so we decided to offer two books featuring teenagers who have to deal with some very tough school issues!!



Read between the lines 
...... 
by Jo Knowles 
Release Date: 10 March 2015
Publisher: Candlewick

Does anyone ever see us for who we really are? Jo Knowles’s revelatory novel of interlocking stories peers behind the scrim as it follows nine teens and one teacher through a seemingly ordinary day.


Thanks to a bully in gym class, unpopular Nate suffers a broken finger—the middle one, splinted to flip off the world. It won’t be the last time a middle finger is raised on this day. Dreamer Claire envisions herself sitting in an artsy cafĂ©, filling a journal, but fate has other plans. One cheerleader dates a closeted basketball star; another questions just how, as a "big girl," she fits in. A group of boys scam drivers for beer money without remorse—or so it seems. Over the course of a single day, these voices and others speak loud and clear about the complex dance that is life in a small town. They resonate in a gritty and unflinching portrayal of a day like any other, with ordinary traumas, heartbreak, and revenge. But on any given day, the line where presentation and perception meet is a tenuous one, so hard to discern. Unless, of course, one looks a little closer—and reads between the lines.

(goodreads summary)




the unlikely hero of room 13b
......
by Teresa Toten
Publish Date: 10 March 2015
Publisher: Delacorte Books for Young Readers

Two-time Governor General's Award nominee Teresa Toten is back with a compulsively readable new book for teens!

When Adam meets Robyn at a support group for kids coping with obsessive-compulsive disorder, he is drawn to her almost before he can take a breath. He's determined to protect and defend her--to play Batman to her Robyn--whatever the cost. But when you're fourteen and the everyday problems of dealing with divorced parents and step-siblings are supplemented by the challenges of OCD, it's hard to imagine yourself falling in love. How can you have a "normal" relationship when your life is so fraught with problems? And that's not even to mention the small matter of those threatening letters Adam's mother has started to receive . . .

Teresa Toten sets some tough and topical issues against the backdrop of a traditional whodunit in this engaging new novel that readers will find hard to put down.

(goodreads summary)