August 5, 2015

Waiting on Wednesday

Sooooo....what book are we waiting on here at RFYF? School is starting soon and I've picked one that shows how two unlikely schoolmates can become best friends!! 

by Michael Harmon
Release Date: 4 August 2015
Publisher: Knopf Books for Young Readers

The story of an unlikely friendship between a high school football hero and a wannabe superhero, perfect for fans of Ned Vizzini, Chris Crutcher, and Paul Volponi. 

 Stick Patterson is the best wide receiver in the history of his high school. A college scholarship is his for the asking, but Stick has fallen out of love with football. He deals with unending pressure, spends hours at grueling practices, and tries to live up to expectations of perfection. In a fit of frustration, he quits the team. But then he meets Preston, who is small, nerdy, and convinced he's a superhero. Preston's father was murdered in front of him, and now he spends his nights trying to stop local crime. "Stick" is the story of two boys--one who dresses up in a costume to make other people happy and another who dresses up in a costume to make a difference in the world. Stick comes to realize that Preston's fantasy world is not that far removed from his own, and both will help each other figure out just what they want to do with their lives.

(goodreads summary)

1 comment:

Thank you for stopping by and taking the time to comment! I do read every comment and appreciate them :)